Richard's Musings
Richard's Musings Podcast
From Abraham to WW1
6
0:00
-25:11

From Abraham to WW1

Part 1- A brief look at a complex history.
6

Christian Church Israel (Image courtesy of heathertruett, Pixabay)

The ongoing conflict between Israel and the Palestinians prompts numerous questions. As the conflict in Gaza persists, public demonstrations are unfolding in major cities worldwide. At the outset of the current war, I quickly realized my knowledge of the countries and regions involved was woefully inadequate. By inadequate, I mean I had essentially forgotten everything I learned in school and in the years that followed. What also became apparent was that most individuals I spoke to about the conflict, and many expressing opinions in the mass media, possessed an even more limited understanding of the subject than I did.

The Western Wall (Image courtesy of GidonPico, Pixabay)

The information presented here is far from the best information that’s available, but it is the best I can offer. One of the primary challenges I encountered while putting together this episode was the sheer volume of information that needed to be condensed into a concise and coherent summary of events. I recorded this on my mobile phone and edited it quickly, so I ask for your understanding regarding the obvious flaws and verbal stumbles. Undoubtedly, I have omitted a considerable amount of information while attempting to encapsulate a 4000-year-old story into less than 30 minutes. If you prefer to skip ahead, the final 6 minutes provide a brief summary of what’s covered in the episode.

Mosque Dome of the Rock (Image courtesy of Konevi, Pixabay)

Ciao for now.

Discussion about this podcast

Richard's Musings
Richard's Musings Podcast
Saturday Sunshine
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Richard
Recent Episodes
  Richard
  Richard
  Richard
  Richard